Error while querying serial number string

Home Forums AR Sandbox Forum Error while querying serial number string

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    engineeringstudents
    Participant

Hello,

I am a student and have been trying to build an AR sandbox with a group at my school. None of us are well versed in coding but have been following along with the uc davis instructions. We’ve been running into issues with calibration and just generally running rawkinectviewer. We got this error ” Error while querying serial number string ” when trying to run the following string in the terminal : ” RawKinectViewer -compress 0 ”
    Just wondering if anyone might know how to resolve this issue.

Thanks

mvmurphy
    Participant

You may get a reply if you provide all versions numbers of software: unix version/type, sandbox, vrui, etc

Thanks

Sean Robinson
    Participant

The specific error you report is from the Vrui library and means that it cannot read the Kinect (hardware) internal serial number.

@mvmurphy
    is correct. Can you provide more details, including Kinect (hardware) model, version numbers for Vrui, Kinect (library), and SARndbox, and Linux distribution?

engineeringstudents
    Participant

Kinect Model: 1414
    Vrui version: Vrui-5.2, build 001, release date 02/18/2020
    Kinect (library): We downloaded the vrui version for kinect 3.9, but I’m not sure how to figure out what the version actually is
    SARndbox: 2.7
    Linux version: Distributor ID: Ubuntu
    Description: Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (tunnels-mlk X55)
    Release: 18.04
    Codename: bionic

Thank you for help!

Sean Robinson
    Participant

Thank you, these details may get someone with a similar setup to help.

The Kinect 1414 is a good model for the AR Sandbox. What do you see if you run sudo /usr/local/bin/KinectUtil list? I am unable to post a sample of the output I see, the forum rejects my post when I include the line,