Killing the X-Server – Not working

Home Forums AR Sandbox Forum Killing the X-Server – Not working

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  scruffyjoe 4 years ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Rickshaw
    Participant

This is more of a Linux issue than a sandbox issue, but it has stopped me cold for almost 2 weeks, and I need help. I’m a Linux newbie, but learning lots trying to troubleshoot this issue.

I bought a new GeForce GTX 970, and a previously-owned Core i3 tower. But when I go to install the Nvidia 346.47 driver, I need to stop the x-server. ($ sudo /etc/init.d/lightdm stop)

It’s “supposed to” go to a text window (like ctrl-alt-F1) where I can continue to install the driver, but instead, it goes to a black screen and locks me out. Manual power-off button is the only cure.

Interestingly, Ctrl-Alt-F1 doesn’t bring up a text terminal, and neither do F2-F6. (But I can get back with F7)

Also interestingly, it happens exactly the same way in both Ubuntu and Linux Mint, which makes me think it’s a hardware compatibility issue between the MB and the GTX 970.

I’m about to install Ubuntu 14.04.1 (http://old-releases.ubuntu.com/releases/14.04.1/) to see if that resolves the issue.

I am a Linux newbie, except for the past several weeks of trying to get this to work. I’m $500 into this project, and I haven’t even built the sandbox yet… Any help from this community is greatly appreciated!!

MikeD
    Participant

We encountered this when we attempted to terminate x-server while using the nvidia card as the output.

Our perhaps dirty workaround was to quit the x-server while using the built-in video output on our motherboard. This dropped us into command line instead of the black screen and allowed the installation to continue as normal!The table is running great now.