Projector question

Home Forums AR Sandbox Forum Projector question

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Lawrie
    Participant

Hi,I am planning building a sandbox at the moment. I dont have the budget for the recommended projector, but have a promethean prm-35. This is a short throw projector and I have a couple of questions about its use. Firstly, when mounted at 1 metre the screen size eill be larger than 1mx75cm. Is this a problem or can this be cropped in calibration? Also, because this projector was designed for use with smartboards it would have had a standar mounting position, so it will need to be angle to get full coverage of the sand. However, I dont think the inbuilt keystone is powerful enough to make the screen fully squared. Does the software also allow for this? Thanks.

ajy00
    Participant

Hi

You can use the PRM-35 with no problems – I’ve been using one on our sandbox for three years… BUT you need to adjust the angle of the projector so that it is held tilted forwards about 25 degrees or so (that’s not exact!). If you use standard screws into the projector’s mounting holes to a support plate, that will work well. The config for the box layout and projector takes care of the sizing/scale. (Thanks as ever Oliver K!!)

Our version is designed to be very portable, so the mount plate is adjustable too – allows the angle to be refined and match up the image without needing to run the config programme each time the kit is set up.
    You can see the setup in some of these images River Wey Trust

Any problems give me a shout – mail link is on the website.
    Alistair

Lawrie
    Participant