Sandbox Constructability Advice

Home Forums AR Sandbox Forum Sandbox Constructability Advice

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    rysheki
    Participant

I’ve basically never built anything before in my life, have no tools, first project, etc. My background is on the tech side of things and I’ve pretty much got everything else working except for the sandbox construction. I’ve been trying to research what might work and mocking up some potential designs, but I need a reality check on if I’m anywhere remotely in the ballpark of constructable, and what issues I might run into. I’m using bolts in certain areas to disassemble and move the structure if necessary.

Here is a link to the model in PDF, DXF, and SketchUp formats: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgHX_kP_GBGygqZfQASgx0AvEpy0rw?e=kv05CW

There are a lot of these out there according to the registered map – is anyone aware of any other build schematics, etc. that might be out there for other’s sandboxes?

Any feedback / advice is greatly appreciated.

ISO View:
    ISO View

Top View:
    Top View

Front View:
    Front View

Right View:
    Right View

Sean Robinson
    Participant

I’ll give feedback, but don’t take me as a construction expert. If you have never built something like this before, I recommend trying to partner with someone with carpentry experience. This is a big piece of work and you may need another pair of hands to hold things while working/assembling.

I like your plan. Yes, keep the camera centered on the sandbox and offset the projector. And it looks like you’ve accounted for the projector lens being off center from the body of the projector. Don’t worry about the projected image perfectly fitting the box; overshoot the box edges and let the calibration crop the image for you.

It looks like the sand is about 20″ off the floor. Who is your target user? This seems low for anyone other than small children.