Theoretical background for Calibration method

Home Forums AR Sandbox Forum Theoretical background for Calibration method

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    pradyumn
    Participant

Is there any literature specific to this sandbox for the calibration methods used in the sandbox ?
    I understand that tie points can be used to calculate homography matrix for transformation from camera space to projection space.
    But I would like to get a deeper understanding of how both base plane equations and projector matrix is calculated and used in the sandbox.
    I am a Python coder so simply looking at the code isn’t helping much.

For full disclosure, I have built a sandbox for wind simulation as a part of my masters thesis (not as aesthetically pleasing and efficient as this one) and have borrowed heavily from Gravbox at U of Iowa.

• This topic was modified 1 year, 7 months ago by pradyumn.
    Oliver Kreylos
    Keymaster

Base plane equation:

1. Collect a bunch of 3D points d_i in depth image space from the camera’s depth image.

2. Convert depth image-space points to metric camera space using camera’s intrinsic depth un-projection matrix (read from camera firmware): c_i = DP * d_i.

3. Find the plane equation (nx, ny, nz) * c_i = o that best fits all points c_i using a standard least-squares linear system solver A^T * A * x = A^T * b.

Projector calibration matrix:

1. Collect a set of tie points that associate a 2D point p_i in projector image space with a 3D point c_i in metric camera space.

2. Create an over-determined linear system for (p_ix * w_i, p_iy * w_i) = H_2 * c_i where H = (h0, …, h3, h4, …, h7, h8, …, h11) is an unknown 3×4 matrix, H_2 is the 2×4 matrix consisting of the upper two rows of H, and w_i = h8*c_ix + h9*c_iy + h10*c_iz + h11 is the homogeneous weight of H * (c_ix, c_iy, c_iz, 1).

3. Solve the system A^T * A * x = 0 by finding the eigenvector of A^T * A that has the smallest eigenvalue.